..::07.01.14::..
it's the end of an era. a chapter closed. some would say that a total loss would just be an insurance term. money in trade for something mechanical, but that car was more to me. i remember how excited i was to buy it. how huge the figure seemed at the time. how it took me eight years to pay off. how my dad was there to help me cosign when i leased it. the adrenaline that filled me when the dealer said saab was owned by GM and i though ha ha! mistake my man! and quickly dialed my grandmother for an employee discount before car dealers were desperate to extend that to anyone and everyone. my family was invested in that car. it was the most expensive thing i'd ever purchased. it was shiny and new once. carried me to so many places. it had a flat on the highway once which should have schooled me on having a clean trunk. moved me to chicago. lived through many curses in traffic for loving the thrill of feeling like a race driver in ohio and having a totally numb and shaky left leg in the city. it got me home safely in a horrible storm when i drove home for christmas despite 30 cars off the road 16 of which were semis...i fought a cabbie in court that hit it intentionally and lost. taught me i'd never be good to testify in court and to keep my mouth shut. it stressed me out a bit due to its age and reliability, but the old girl even showed me this summer that she had some spunk left and took me on a memorable adventure through a michigan forest. that girl was better than a jeep at two tracking...until we hit sand. i drove her with my four legged baby on my lap until he was too big to do safely. then drove her home for christmas through torrential rain for 7 hours. she hydroplaned but stayed strong. i didn't treat her as well as i could have, but she was a really good metal friend and i will miss her terribly.
the box arrived today with her plates and i can honestly say i'm almost if not equally as sad as i was when i got my pet's ashes because of so many memories she housed for me. i'm glad i didn't have to identify the body at the salvage yard and can take some part of her with me to my next.
goodbye old girl. i'll miss you.

previous next

i wear my heart under sleeves. - 03.24.15
what happens in jupiter, stays in jupiter. - 02.23.15
i'm leaving this thought so that i can leave this feeling behind. - 02.08.15
it's me time - 02.03.15
list. - 06.12.14
">past

read my dreambook
Dreambook
.07